• Portal Home
  • Knowledgebase
  • WordPress Hosting
  • How to activate Maintenance (or Private) mode on Managed WordPress

How to activate Maintenance (or Private) mode on Managed WordPress

The Maintenance (or Private) mode in Managed WordPress Hosting allows you to disable your WordPress site to the public, all while remaining available to connected WordPress admin users. This feature is commonly used when a website is under construction or if you're planning important updates and don't want to display your website while it's being worked on.

The Maintenance mode is available in your Staging environment when using Managed WordPress Hosting.

The Private mode is available in your Live (or production) environment when using Managed WordPress Hosting.

When the Maintenance or Private mode is enabled, your website will show the message "Website in Maintenance" or "Private Website" to any visitors that aren't connected to the WordPress Admin.

How to activate Maintenance mode on your Staging WordPress site

Maintenance mode is available on your Staging environment with the Pro or greater Managed WordPress Hosting plans. Here's how to enable/disable it:

  1. Log in to the Client Area and go to the the Managed WordPress dashboard
  2. Click on Staging to access your Staging environment
  3. Under Settings, click the toggle to the right of Maintenance
  4. A message will appear asking you to confirm the change. Click OK
  5. The toggle button will move to the right and it will turn green. Maintenance Mode is now active!
  6. To disable Maintenance mode, click the toggle again

How to activate Private mode on your Live WordPress site

  1. Log in to the Client Area and go to the the Managed WordPress dashboard
  2. Under Settings, click the toggle to the right of Private Mode
  3. A message will appear asking you to confirm the change. Click OK
  4. The toggle button will move to the right and it will turn green. Private Mode is now active!
  5. To disable Private mode, click the toggle again
Maintenance or Private modes will not be impacted when synchronizing Live and Staging environments.
Was this answer helpful? Yes No